ODSL Randy Rawls Sportsmanship Awards

If You Don't Vote You Can't Win!

The ODSL Randy Rawls Sportsmanship Award is presented each season to the team in each division that represents the best example of sportsmanship.  Winning teams receive a handsome team trophy, individual player awards and tickets for the team to a DC United match, during which the team will be recognized at halftime.  Ballots are cast by each team in the division to determine the winner.  To cast your team's ballot login to your team page, choose the link titled "Team Page" and then from the green toolbar at the top of the page click on Sportsmanship.  You must vote for your three choices.  The form makes it impossible for you to vote for your own team.  The rules for the awards are as follows:

    a. Sportsmanship Awards will be awarded in each division to the team exhibiting the best sportsmanship during the season. At the end of the season, Teams will vote for three teams in their division, in descending order, for the sportsmanship awards. No team will be allowed to vote for their own team. Points will be accumulated on the basis of six (6) points for a first place vote, four (4) for a second and (2) for a third place vote. A team must vote in order to be eligible to win the award.

    b. Points will be deducted for cautions and ejections received during the season: one (1) point for a caution and two (2) points for an ejection.

    c. Referees will award sportsmanship points for each game with a maximum of 4 and a minimum of 0. A per game average of those points will be determined and added to the total of a team’s points in order to break ties.

    d. Tie breaking procedures if still tied after steps above will be as follow:

      1. Team with most first place votes.
      2. Team with most votes, all positions.
      3. Team with the fewest penalty points for cautions or ejections.
      4. Co-winners